Autumn 2001 / Life on Campus
Profs Nab Major Academic Awards

Kalow wins Killam Prize, Mitrovica picks up McLean Award

Werner Kalow, a U of T pharmacologist whose work brings together pharmacology and genetics, was awarded the 2001 Killam Prize, Canada’s highest award in natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. Geophysicist Jerry Mitrovica (BSc 1983, MSc 1985, PhD 1991), won this year’s $100,000 McLean Award, given to outstanding young researchers at U of T for their work in basic sciences. Kenneth Dion, a psychology professor, was recently awarded the Donald O. Hebb Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Science. Andrew Hughes, professor of history and culture of music, has been elected president of the Medieval Academy of America. Timothy McGee, a professor of musicology, has won the 2001 Howard Mayer Brown Award for lifetime achievement in early music.

Add a Comment

required, use real name
required, Not for Publication
optional, eg: BSc 2008

Next story in this issue: »
Previous story in this issue: «