University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine
Summer 2009

Honorary Degree Recipients

U of T confers its highest award on distinguished leaders, authors, volunteers and alumni

Note: The back cover of the Summer 2009 issue contained incorrect information about honorary degree recipients. The published list of honorary graduands omitted Keren Brathwaite and Michael Porter. And although Lawrence S. Bloomberg and Andrzej Wajda are honorary degree candidates, their degrees had not yet been awarded. U of T Magazine regrets the errors.

Over the course of a few weeks this June, some 11,000 U of T students converged on Convocation Hall, where they were officially welcomed into the university’s alumni community. Joining this year’s new grads were 15 distinguished honorary graduands. “I am delighted the University of Toronto had the opportunity to honour such an exceptional group of individuals,” said President David Naylor. As custom dictates, each honorary degree recipient addressed their convocation. Watch the webcasts of these presentations.

Michael Bliss (BA 1962 UC, MA 1966, PhD 1972)
Canadian historian, author and public intellectual

Keren S. Brathwaite (MEd 1969 OISE)
Educational leader in promoting access, equity and anti-racism

Lyse M. Doucet (MA 1982)
Broadcaster and foreign correspondent

Frank Frantisak
Former vice-president of Noranda and pioneer in environmental sustainability

Nona Macdonald Heaslip (BA 1951 St. Michael’s)
Communications specialist, volunteer and visionary arts supporter

Alan R. Hudson
Neurosurgeon and adviser on health-care administration and policy

Dennis Lee (BA 1962 VIC, MA 1965)
Poet, editor, publisher and one of Canada’s best-loved children’s authors

Joseph B. MacInnis (MD 1962)
Physician-scientist, author and deep-sea explorer

The Honourable David C. Onley (BA 1975 UTSC)
Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, broadcaster, writer and champion for the disabled

Rose M. Patten
Senior executive with BMO Financial Group and dedicated philanthropist

Michael E. Porter

Harvard Business School professor, author, U.S. government advisor and an expert in competition and company strategy

Vivienne Poy (MA 1997, PhD 2003)
A Canadian senator, and supporter of cultural, community and human rights groups

Dorothy M. Pringle
Former dean of U of T’s Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

M.G. Vassanji
Award-winning author of eight novels

George A. Zarb
Prosthodontist who has established standards for teaching, practice and research in his field

Recent Posts