University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Awards of Excellence

Alumni Association honours faculty, staff and students

The recipients of the 2004 U of T Alumni Association (UTAA) Awards of Excellence were announced on May 4 at Hart House. Dr. Donald Thomas Stuss of medicine and psychology received the Faculty Award; Sally Jean Walker of New College was given the Chancellor’s Award; J. Barbara Rose of Woodsworth College received the Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award; and Professor George Elliott Clarke of English earned the Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize. This year’s UTAA Scholars are Saswata Deb of Victoria College, Helen Liu and Sonali Thakkar of Trinity College and Shauna Morgan of the University of Toronto at Scarborough. UTAA Graduate Scholars are Timothy Corson of molecular and medical genetics, Barnabas Emenogu of OISE/UT and Nisha Shah of political science. Maria Banda of Trinity College was named the John H. Moss Scholar and Françoise Ko of pharmacology was named the Adel S. Sedra Distinguished Graduate Scholar.

The Northrop Frye Awards were also announced. In the individual category, the award for innovation in linking teaching and research went to Professor Alan John Bewell of English. In the departmental category, the award was given to the Faculty of Medicine’s Cardiovascular Sciences Collaborative Program.

Recent Posts

David Rokeby in glasses and a black T-shirt, standing in front of a screen, with multiple colours in various patterns projected on the screen

The Theatre of Tomorrow

A U of T lab is working with actors, writers and directors on how they could harness AI and other emerging technologies to generate new ideas and – just maybe – reinvent theatre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *