University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Powerful Women

U of T grads named to the Women's Executive Network's 100 most powerful women in Canada

The Women’s Executive Network named the following U of T alumni to its 100 most powerful women in Canada list: Sonia Baxendale (BA 1984 VIC) of CIBC; Sandra Hanington (MBA 1992) of BMO Financial Group; Shirley Hoy (BA 1973 VIC, MSW 1975), CEO of the Toronto Lands Corporation; Shelly Jamieson (BA 1980 VIC), head of the Ontario Public Service; Neena Kanwar (BSc 1979 VIC) of KMH Cardiology and Diagnostic Centres; The Hon. Margaret McCain (BScSW 1955), New Brunswick’s former lieutenant-governor; Rosemarie McClean (MBA 1997) of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan; Dr. Bonita Porter (BSc Pharm 1974, MSc 1978), Ontario’s deputy chief coroner; Elisabeth Ross (MHSc 1999) of Ovarian Cancer Canada; Jodi White (BA 1969 VIC), past president of the Public PolicyForum; and Mary Jo Haddad (MHSc 1998), president and CEO of the Hospital for Sick Children. Three U of T students were named in the future leader category: Sadia Rafiquddin of Trinity College is a member of the college’s G8 Research Group; Rumeet Toor (BA 2006 UTM) is a master’s student at OISE and president of Jobs in Education, an Internet job site; Jasmeet Sidhu of Trinity College is founder of the Peel Environmental Youth Alliance.

The Hon. Allan J. MacEachen (MA 1946) and Dr. LaVerne Kindree (MD 1947) were recently named to the Order of Canada. MacEachen was named an officer for his public service career as a senator and cabinet minister. Kindree was appointed a member for his work as a health-care practitioner and philanthropist. Peter Munk (BASc 1952) received a promotion to companion for his contributions as an entrepreneur and a philanthropist.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.