University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Profs Win GG Awards

Thomas Homer-Dixon nabs non-fiction prize, George Elliott Clarke picks up poetry award

Two members of the Faculty of Arts and Science have won Governor General’s Awards. Thomas Homer-Dixon of political science won in the non-fiction category for his book The Ingenuity Gap, while George Elliott Clarke of English received the poetry award for Execution Poems.

Mark Greenberg, professor of pediatrics, was recently appointed an officer of the Order of Canada. The following U of T faculty were appointed members of the order: Sudarshan Devanesen, professor of family and community medicine; William Geisler (MD 1948), professor emeritus of medicine; Leo Mahoney (BA 1942 St. Mike’s, MD 1944), professor of surgery; and Abraham Rapoport (MD 1949, MSc 1952), professor emeritus of medicine.

The following received honorary doctor of law degrees at U of T fall convocation: Martha C. Piper, president of the University of British Columbia; artist Doris McCarthy; and conductor Sir David Willcocks. Endel Tulving, professor emeritus of psychology, was awarded a doctor of science.

Recent Posts

Jialiang Zhu standing next to a sunflower patch

Come From Away

These seven international students and alumni are among the thousands who contribute to scholarly and cultural life at U of T

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *