University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Profs Nab Major Academic Awards

Kalow wins Killam Prize, Mitrovica picks up McLean Award

Werner Kalow, a U of T pharmacologist whose work brings together pharmacology and genetics, was awarded the 2001 Killam Prize, Canada’s highest award in natural sciences, health sciences and engineering. Geophysicist Jerry Mitrovica (BSc 1983, MSc 1985, PhD 1991), won this year’s $100,000 McLean Award, given to outstanding young researchers at U of T for their work in basic sciences. Kenneth Dion, a psychology professor, was recently awarded the Donald O. Hebb Award for Distinguished Contributions to Psychology as a Science. Andrew Hughes, professor of history and culture of music, has been elected president of the Medieval Academy of America. Timothy McGee, a professor of musicology, has won the 2001 Howard Mayer Brown Award for lifetime achievement in early music.

Recent Posts

Jialiang Zhu standing next to a sunflower patch

Come From Away

These seven international students and alumni are among the thousands who contribute to scholarly and cultural life at U of T

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *