Catherine Graham is the author of four acclaimed poetry collections: The Watch (Abbey Press, Northern Ireland) and the trilogy Pupa, The Red Element and Winterkill (Insomniac Press). She teaches creative writing at U of T’s School of Continuing Studies. www.catherinegraham.com

Bruce Meyer (BA 1980 Victoria, MA 1982) is the author of 31 books including 11 poetry collections, the most recent of which are Mesopotamia (YSP, 2010) and Dog Days: A Comedy of Terriers (Black Moss Press, 2010). He is a professor of English at Georgian College and the inaugural Poet Laureate for the City of Barrie.

Zoe Whittall is the author of seven books, most recently the novel Holding Still for as Long as Possible (House of Anansi).

Carleton Wilson (BA 2000 Innis) is a poet, editor, publisher and book designer. He lives and works in the Junction in Toronto.

Note: Catherine Graham helped select the finalists but due to a conflict did not help choose the winner.



Kerry Clare (BA 2002 Victoria, MA 2007) is the winner of the 2009 U of T Magazine Alumni Short Story contest. Her essays, short fiction and book reviews have appeared in various wonderful places, and she writes about books and reading at her blog “Pickle Me This.”

Lauren Kirshner’s debut novel Where We Have to Go (McClelland & Stewart) was a finalist for the 2010 City of Toronto Book Award and will be published in the U.S. in spring 2012. Kirshner (BA 2005 Victoria, MA 2007) received NOW’s “Best Emerging Author” award of 2009 and has twice won the Hart House Poetry Competition.

Rebecca Rosenblum’s fiction has been short-listed for the Journey Prize, the National Magazine Award, and the Danuta Gleed Award. Her story collection, Once, won the Metcalf-Rooke Award. Her second collection, The Big Dream, is forthcoming from Biblioasis this fall. Rosenblum (MA 2007) also writes a blog, at www.rebeccarosenblum.com

Mark Sedore (BA 2008 Victoria, MA 2009) is staff writer for U of T, and has previously worked as a writer for the mayor’s office in Toronto. His novel, Snowmen (Arsenal Pulp Press), won the 3-Day Novel Writing Contest in 2009.

Note: Mark Sedore helped select the finalists but due to a conflict did not help choose the winner.