University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Ydessa Hendeles Wins GG-Award

Awards of Excellence honour members of U of T community

In March, curator, art collector and philanthropist Ydessa Hendeles (BA 1969 NEW, LLD Hon. 2000) was presented with a Governor General’s Award in visual and media arts.

Ushering in the month of May were the U of T Alumni Association’s annual Awards of Excellence. English and biology student Joshua Cramer (VIC) was named the prestigious 2002 John H. Moss Scholar in recognition of both academic achievement and extracurricular leadership. The Faculty Award went to Prof. Alexandra F. Johnston (BA 1961 VIC, MA 1962, PhD 1964) of English, Victoria University. Sandra McGugan, administrative co-ordinator in the Faculty of Medicine’s MD/PhD program, picked up the Chancellor’s Award. The Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award went to Sundeep Singh for his role in the creation of the new students’ centre at the University of Toronto at Scarborough, which will open its doors in late 2004. Prof. David R. Cameron of political science received the Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize for his work supporting the homeless in Toronto. Simon Bailey (TRIN), Rebecca Dolgoy (VIC), Samaneh Hosseini (SCAR), Vivek Krishnamurthy (INNIS) and Sundeep Singh were all named UTAA Scholars. Prof. John Hull, Rotman School of Management, won a Northrop Frye award.

Shirley Curson-Prue (BA 1972 SCAR) has won a Head of Public Service Award for her management of Ontario’s Disabilities Strategy. The program celebrates public service employees who “challenge the status quo.”

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *