University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Daniel Brooks Picks Up $100,000 Theatre Prize

In other awards, prof Robin Armstrong receives honorary degree

Toronto theatre director Daniel Brooks (BA 1981 UC) is the first recipient of the Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre. The award, worth $100,000, is Canada’s single largest arts prize. It recognizes an artist in mid-career who has contributed significantly to theatrical life.

Calvin Brook (BArch 1982) and Anne McIlroy (BArch 1986) received the 2001 Waterfront Center’s Top Honor Award for their Windsor central riverfront implementation plan. The Waterfront Center in Washington, D.C., is a non-profit organization dedicated to the revitalization of waterfronts around the world.

Eva Dessen (BA 1966 UC, MA 1968, PhD 1974) and her husband, Harold, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Associated Hebrew Day Schools for their years of volunteer service.

Robin Armstrong (BA 1958 UC, MSc 1959, PhD 1961), U of T professor emeritus of physics and former dean of arts and science at U of T, was awarded an honorary doctor of science degree at the University of New Brunswick (UNB) in Fredericton. Armstrong was president of UNB from 1990 to 1996.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *