University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Michael Morgan Named Moss Scholar

UTAA honours students, staff and faculty with Awards of Excellence

Michael Morgan, a top student in international relations at Trinity College who heads for Cambridge University this fall, is this year’s John H. Moss Scholar. The University of Toronto Alumni Association celebrated its annual Awards of Excellence on April 30 at Hart House.

Ian Hacking, a leading professor of philosophy and author of The Taming of Chance (which made the Modern Library’s list of 100 Best Non-Fiction Books Since 1900), received the Faculty Award.

Cleo Boyd (MA 1977), director of the Academic Skills Centre at UTM, won the Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award.

Political science professor David Rayside, a key player in creating open acceptance of sexual diversity at University College, was awarded the Ludwik and Estelle Jus Memorial Human Rights Prize.

The Chancellor’s Award went to Diana Alli, co-ordinator of student affairs and mother figure at the Faculty of Medicine whose efforts on behalf of medical students are matched only by her many volunteer accomplishments.

Rutha Astravas, Arvin Hariri, Brett Hendrie, Aidan Johnson and Zeeshan Waseem are all UTAA scholars.

The Joseph Sablé Centre for 19th Century French Studies at the University of St. Michael’s College received the Northrop Frye Award.

Karen Hughes (BCom 1987 St. Mike’s, MSc 1990) was named CIAU Women’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *