University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Awards of Excellence

U of T Alumni Association (UTAA) Awards of Excellence ceremony

Krista Lauer of the University of Toronto Scarborough and Craig Kielburger, a specialist in peace and conflict studies at Trinity College, have been named this year’s John H. Moss Scho­lars. Lauer, an international development studies major, has volunteered in Africa and worked with the humanitarian organization CARE International. Kielburger is the foun­der of the children’s rights organization Free the Children. He received the 2006 World Children’s Prize for the Rights of the Child, known as the “children’s Nobel.” He will be the guest speaker at the UTAA Annual General Meeting on Sept. 6 at 5:30 p.m. at Hart House. The John H. Moss Scholars were announced at the U of T Alumni Association (UTAA) Awards of Excellence May 9 at Hart House.

Two new awards were handed out at the ceremony. The Jon S. Dellandrea Award for International Students was given to Eliza Liyun Jiang Chen. The UTSC student, a native of Panama, was president of the U of T Model United Nations and the co-ordinator of a free tutoring program for new immigrant children. The Carolyn Tuohy Impact on Public Policy Award went to OISE/UT Professor Kenneth Leithwood, an expert on educational policy and practice. Several other Awards of Excellence were also presented.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *