University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine


Appointments to the Order of Canada and other award recognitions

The following alumni were recently appointed officers of the Order of Canada: Daniel G. Hill (MA 1951, PhD 1960), Maureen Kempston Darkes (BA 1970 VIC, LLB 1973, LLD Hon. 1996), John Daniel Leitch (Cert Bus 1946) and Robert Vaughn Moody (MA 1964, PhD 1966). The following were appointed members: Peter J. George (BA 1962 VIC, MA 1963, PhD 1967), David M. Hayne (BA 1942 UC), Rev. Garth Warren Legge (BA 1943 VIC, MDiv 1949, DDiv Hon. 1979), William G. Saywell (BA 1960 UC, MA 1961, PhD 1969), Charles Haskell Tator (MD 1961, MA 1963, PhD 1965) and William Clare Wonders (BA 1946 VIC, PhD 1951).

In January, Atom Egoyan (BA 1982 TRIN, DLitt Sac Hon. 1988) won a Genie award for best adapted screenplay and Mychael Danna (BMus 1986, BEd 1987) received a Genie for original score, both for the film Felicia’s Journey.

John H. Treleaven (BA 1967 UC), Canadian ambassador to the Philippines, recently received an honorary doctorate of humanities from the University of Baguio, while Claire Morris (BA 1966 SMC, MSW 1968), deputy minister of Human Resources Development Canada, was awarded an honorary doctor of letters degree from the University of New Brunswick.

Barry Hitchcock (BASc 1958) has been named a companion of Professional Engineers Ontario’s Order of Honour. The rank of companion is the order’s highest distinction. John Kalmet (BASc 1961) has received the E.A. Scholz Award for excellence in mine development from the British Columbia and Yukon Chamber of Mines. Thomas E. Darcie (MASc 1979, PhD 1983) has been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, for his contributions to optical signal multiplexing in lightwave systems.

Joan Gullen (BA 1952 VIC) was awarded the Governor General’s Meritorious Service Cross for community leadership.

Dr. Kenneth Shulman (MD 1973) received the Award of Outstanding Contributions to Psycho-geriatrics at the Congress of the International Psycho-geriatric Association in Vancouver.

Farid Omar (BA 1999 Woodsworth) and Sam W. Mikhail (EdD 1996) received New Pioneers Awards, which celebrate the achievements of immigrants and refugees.

A gala dinner held in March for Dr. Tom Pashby (MD 1940) raised more than $60,000 for the Tom Pashby Fund, which aims to eliminate catastrophic injury in sports and recreation.

Recent Posts

David Rokeby in glasses and a black T-shirt, standing in front of a screen, with multiple colours in various patterns projected on the screen

The Theatre of Tomorrow

A U of T lab is working with actors, writers and directors on how they could harness AI and other emerging technologies to generate new ideas and – just maybe – reinvent theatre

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *