University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

A Farewell Gift to Last Forever

Award named in honour of Interim President, Frank Iacobucci

He once joked that he was “the shortest president for the shortest time.” But a donation in honour of former interim president Frank Iacobucci will provide financial assistance to U of T students long into the future.

U of T Presidents Emeriti George Connell, John Evans and Robert Prichard and current president David Naylor have created the Frank Iacobucci Transitional Year Programme Education Award. The award honours Iacobucci, U of T’s interim president from September 2004 to June 2005,  for his outstanding service. Iacobucci is a former justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and was U of T’s provost and dean of the Faculty of Law. Throughout his tenure as interim president, Iacobucci spoke often of his deep commitment to the Transitional Year Programme (TYP), which helps people who lack formal educational credentials make the transition to university.

The tribute award was matched by the William Waters Challenge Fund and the Ontario Student Opportunities Trust Fund, resulting in an endowment of more than $400,000. Annual proceeds will provide bursaries to TYP students in financial need.

Recent Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *