University of Toronto Magazine University of Toronto Magazine

Ian Manners Wins Steacie Prize

Awards for U of T faculty

Professor Ian Manners of chemistry has won the 2000 Steacie Prize, Canada’s most prestigious science award. Professor Sajeev John of physics has been named a co-winner of the 2001 King Faisal International Prize in Science.

Recently the following received the Order of Ontario: Lap-Chee Tsui of medical genetics and microbiology; Robert Freedom of pediatrics; and President Emeritus Robert Prichard (LLB 1975).

Professor Monica Heller of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education is the first U of T faculty member to win the Konrad Adenauer Award for research in the humanities or social sciences.

Professor Diego Puga of economics and Marc Coppolino (MSc 1971, PhD 1998), a post-doctoral fellow in biochemistry, are among five researchers to win this year’s John Charles Polanyi prizes.

Recent Posts

Nisha Pahuja, wearing a black 3/4 sleeve top and black-framed glasses, sitting on a chair at a corner next to potted plants in front of large windows, with sunlight flooding the room

Fighting for Justice

In her latest documentary, filmmaker Nisha Pahuja tackles a most difficult topic – sexual assault

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *